Road Permit in France - Everything you need to know

Contractors and other project owners are often confronted with the problem of road permits in France. This is the case for all works that will modify the ground or the subsoil of the public domain. But where and how to submit the request in order to obtain this essential sesame before any start of job site ? And above all, what are the recourses in case of refusal? We are going to detail all these points together.

Definition of a road permit

Road permits are a group of different types of requests. They include the parking permit and the road permit. The latter is to be requested for works that will be carried out along the roadside or on the public domain. Another characteristic of this road permit application is that it concerns work that will have a footprint, that will transform the ground or the subsoil of the public domain.

For example, the installation of pipes requires a prior request for a road permit. The same applies to the installation of street furniture or the removal of street furniture from job site if it is to be anchored in the ground.

This procedure must be carried out using a regulated form called "cerfa permission de voirie".

If the nature of the work will affect traffic, a request for a traffic order must also be made.

Stop of the SCoT and complementary work

 

Who issues the road permission?

It is the authority in charge of the road concerned that will respond to this request. In the municipalities, it is generally the mayor who will issue a road order granting authorization.

Please note that in certain large towns, some roads will not be communal. The municipal services will therefore not be able to process a request for road permission on the departmental or national network. It is advised to contact the town hall beforehand to check the nature of the road concerned.

The road by-law specifies the characteristics of the job site, its opening date and the deadline for completion of the work. It also sets out the specific technical requirements and the responsibility of the contractor.

The municipal by-law will always mention the temporary and revocable nature of the road permit granted. This is one of the particularities of road permits.

 

The differences between an occupation permit and a road permit

The occupation permit of the public domain takes different forms. For example, the terraces of cafés are subject to a temporary occupation permit (AOT) for the public domain.

However, there are two main types of occupancy for works, the parking permit and the road permit.

In fact, a road permission is an authorization to occupy, in the same way as a parking permit.

However, the road permit differs from the parking permit in the nature of the work to be carried out. Indeed, it necessarily implies that the job site will require a footprint and therefore lead to a modification of the ground or the subsoil.

On the other hand, the parking permit, which is also an occupation permit, only concerns work that does not affect the ground or the subsoil.

Thus, it will be necessary to file a parking permit application to install a dumpster or scaffolding for a renovation.

However, an application for road permit must be filed before starting to lay underground pipes or installing a bus stop, for example.

As for the installation of a fence of job site, depending on whether it is sealed in the ground or not, it will need a road permit or a parking permit.

In any case, the request is made by the same form as the cerfa road by-law.

Road Permit | City of Surgères

Cerfa road by-law

It is the cerfa n°14023*01 which allows to write the request. It is available for download by clicking here!

An explanatory note is also available on the site.

This form must be accompanied by the documents mentioned for the file to be considered complete.

This is what will determine the starting point of the instruction period.

The mayor's obligation with respect to roads

The authority in charge of the management of communal road networks is the municipality, as a public entity, and represented by its mayor. Indeed, the municipality has the prerogatives of owner of the public domain concerned. It must exercise its police powers to ensure the preservation of the domain in its current state. This is why it is necessary to submit a request for a road order to the town hall for work on communal roads.

As guarantor of the good conservation of the communal road domain, it will determine if the work is possible and will fix the conditions of realization and the limits.

The administration has a two-month instruction period starting from the submission of the complete road permit application file. The refusal can be notified but it is not obligatory. This is called, in the latter case, a tacit decision. In this case, the silence of the administration at the end of the two months is equivalent to a refusal.

Like any administrative decision, this one can be contested.

Town Hall hours and contacts

Appeals against the mayor in road matters

The possible appeals can be made in a gracious way or in a contentious way. 

The first option is simply to ask City Hall to reconsider its decision. This is the preferred option. It is advisable to contact the relevant department of the city hall to find out the reason for the refusal. It will then be possible to renew the request taking into account these reasons and thus allow the road permit to be granted.

If this is not enough or if the project owner considers that the town hall has exceeded its powers in this matter, an appeal to the administrative court should be considered. The time limit for bringing the contentious action is two months from the date of notification if the decision has been communicated. If the decision has not been communicated within two months of the file being examined, the date on which the complete file is submitted sets the time limit: two months for the decision plus two months for the appeal.

It should be noted that the time between the filing of an application and the judgment is between seven months and two and a half years, depending on the complexity of the case and the congestion of the court concerned.

What to remember about the road permit?

Finally, the point to remember is that any job site that will modify the ground or the subsoil of a part of the public domain requires a road permit. In order to avoid delays in starting the work, it is essential to respect two points. First of all, it is necessary to make sure that the request is filed with the competent authority. Most of the time, this is the town hall for work in a built-up area, but a check with the competent municipal department is essential. Then, submitting a complete file from the beginning with all the documents mentioned in the cerfa14023*01 is also a key element. If, despite all these precautions, the application is rejected, be careful to respect the time limits for appeal so as not to find yourself out of time. This is the secret of the road permit.

Reconcile the field and the office. 😌
Free trial
Kraaft

Mobile Apps

@ 2022 KRAAFT SAS

Permission de voirie - Tout ce qu'il faut savoir

Les entrepreneurs de travaux et autres maîtres d'ouvrages sont souvent confrontés au problème de la permission de voirie. C'est le cas pour tous les travaux qui vont modifier le sol ou le sous-sol du domaine public. Mais où et comment déposer la demande afin d'obtenir ce sésame indispensable avant tout démarrage de chantier ? Et surtout, quels sont les recours en cas de refus ? C'est l'ensemble de ces points que nous allons détailler ensemble.

Définition de l'autorisation de voirie

Les autorisations de voirie regroupent différents types de demandes. On retrouve notamment le permis de stationnement et la permission de voirie. Cette dernière est à solliciter pour les travaux qui vont s'effectuer en bordure de voie ou sur le domaine public. Autre caractéristique de cette demande d'autorisation de voirie, elle concerne les travaux qui vont avoir une emprise au sol, qui vont transformer le sol ou le sous-sol du domaine public.

Par exemple, la création d'un bateau d'accès sur un trottoir ou la pose de canalisations nécessitent de déposer préalablement une demande de permission de voirie. De même que l'installation de mobilier urbain ou dépalissades de chantier si elles doivent être ancrées dans le sol.

Cette démarche est à effectuer à l'aide d'un imprimé réglementé nommé cerfa permission de voirie.

Si la nature des travaux va affecter la circulation, il faudra solliciter en plus une demande d'arrêté de circulation.

Arrêt du SCoT et travail complémentaire

 

Qui délivre la permission de voirie ?

C'est l'autorité en charge de la voirie concernée qui va répondre à cette demande. Dans les communes, c'est généralement le maire qui va produire un arrêté de voirie portant autorisation.

Attention, dans certaines grosses agglomérations, certaines voies ne seront pas communales. Les services municipaux ne seront donc pas à même d'instruire une demande de permission de voirie sur le réseau départemental ou national. Il est conseillé de s'adresser préalablement à la mairie pour vérifier la nature de la voie concerné.

L'arrêté de voirie reprend les caractéristiques du chantier, sa date d'ouverture et le délai d'exécution des travaux. Il fixe aussi les prescriptions techniques particulières, et la responsabilité du titulaire.

L'arrêté municipal mentionnera toujours le caractère temporaire et révocable de l'autorisation de voirie accordée. C'est une des particularités des permissions de voirie.

 

Les différences entre autorisation d'occuper et permission de voirie

L'autorisation d'occuper une partie du domaine public revêt différentes formes d'occupation. Ainsi, les terrasses de cafés font l'objet d'une autorisation d'occupation temporaire (AOT) du domaine public.

Mais, en matière de travaux, il existe deux principaux types d'occupation, le permis de stationnement et la permission de voirie.

En fait, la permission de voirie relève d'une autorisation d'occuper, au même titre qu'un permis de stationnement.

Mais la permission de voirie se distingue du permis de stationnement par la nature des travaux à effectuer. En effet, elle induit obligatoirement que le chantier va nécessiter une emprise au sol et donc entraîner une modification dusol ou du sous-sol.

En revanche, le permis de stationnement qui relève également d'une autorisation d'occuper ne concerne que des travaux qui n'affectent ni le sol ni le sous-sol.

Ainsi, il sera nécessaire de déposer une demande de permis de stationnement pour poser une benne à gravats, ou pour une installation d'échafaudage en vue d'un ravalement.

Par contre, une demande de permission de voirie devra être déposée avant de commencer une pose de canalisations souterraines ou l'installation d'un arrêt de bus par exemple.

Quant à la mise en place d'une clôture de chantier, suivant si elle est scellée dans le sol ou non, elle aura besoin d'une permission de voirie ou d'un permis de stationnement.

Quoi qu'il en soit, la demande se fait par le même imprimé que le cerfa autorisation de voirie.

Permission de voirie | Ville de Surgères

Cerfa permission de voirie

C'est le cerfa n°14023*01 qui permet de rédiger la demande. Il est disponible en téléchargement en cliquant ici !

Une notice explicative est également disponible sur le site.

Cet imprimé devra être accompagné des pièces mentionnées pour que le dossier soit considéré comme complet.

C'est ce qui permettra de fixer le point de départ du délai d'instruction.

L'obligation du maire en matière de voirie

L'autorité en charge de la gestion des réseaux routiers communaux est la mairie, en tant que personne publique, et représentée par son maire. En effet, la commune dispose des prérogatives de propriétaire du domaine public concerné. Elle doit exercer les pouvoirs de police afin d'assurer la conservation du domaine en l'état. C'est pourquoi c'est bien auprès de la mairie qu'il convient de déposer la demande d'arrêté de voirie pour des travaux sur des voies communales.

En tant que garant de la bonne conservation du domaine routier communal, elle déterminera si les travaux sont possibles et en fixera les conditions de réalisation et les limites.

L'administration a un délai d'instruction de deux mois à partir de la remise du dossier complet de demande d'autorisation de voirie. Le refus peut être notifié mais ce n'est pas obligatoire. Cela s'appelle, dans ce dernier cas, une décision tacite. En l'occurrence, le silence de l'administration à l'issue des deux mois équivaut à un refus.

Comme toute décision administrative, celle-ci peut-être contestée.

Horaires et contacts de la mairie

Les recours contre le maire en voirie

Les recours possibles peuvent être fait à titre gracieux ou à titre contentieux. 

Dans la première options, il s'agit simplement de demander à la mairie de bien vouloir revoir sa décision. C'est la voie privilégiée. Il est conseillé de s'adresser au service compétent de la mairie afin de connaître lemotif du refus. Il sera ainsi possible de renouveler la demande en prenant en compte ces motivations et permettre ainsi que l'autorisation de voirie soit accordée.

Si cela ne suffit pas ou si le maître d'ouvrage estime que la mairie a outrepassé ses pouvoirs en la matière, un recours devant le tribunal administratif sera à envisager. Le délai pour introduire l'action contentieuse est de deux mois à compter de la date de notification si la décision a été communiquée. Si elle ne l'a pas été à l'issue des deux mois d'instruction du dossier, c'est la date de dépôt du dossier complet qui fixe tous les délais : deux mois pour la décision plus deux mois pour le recours.

Il est à noter que les délais entre le dépôt d'une demande et le jugement sont compris entre sept mois et deux ans et demi suivant la complexité du dossier et l'encombrement du tribunal concerné.

Que retenir sur la permission de voirie ?

Finalement, le point à retenir est que tout chantier qui va modifier le sol ou le sous-sol d'une partie du domaine public nécessite une autorisation de voirie. Afin d'éviter des retards dans le démarrage des travaux, il est essentiel de respecter deux points. Tout d'abord, il faut s'assurer que la demande est déposée auprès de l'autorité compétente. La plupart du temps, c'est la mairie pour des travaux dans une agglomération mais une vérification auprès du service municipal compétent est indispensable. Puis, remettre un dossier complet dès le début avec toutes les pièces mentionnées dans le cerfa14023*01 est aussi un élément clé. Si malgré toutes ces précautions, la demande devait être rejetée, attention à bien respecter les délais de recours pour ne pas se retrouver hors délai. C'est tout les secrets de la permission de voirie.

Recevez toutes nos actualités
Votre inscription est validée 🎉
Erreur
Kraaft

Apps mobiles

Nos industries

Travaux publics
@ 2020 KRAAFT SAS